Norfairus’ Self-Introduction

To: Ms Lim Lay Hoon

From: Mohammad Norfairus Bin Abdul Rahim

Date: 18 January 2018

Subject: Norfairus’ Self-Introduction

Dear Ms Lim,

My name is Norfairus, a hospitality business sophomore from Singapore Institute of Technology (SIT). Prior to enrolling into SIT, I have worked for over six years in the events industry in various public and private organisations.

In my most recent work as a Senior Formula One (F1) Officer with Singapore Tourism Board, I have successfully managed several key F1 infrastructure projects worth over SGD 250,000 each. I was also the key point-of-contact during the establishment of the Joint-Agency Operations Command Centre for both F1 2015 and 2016.

Additionally, I have actively involved myself in the construction of Vanda Suite (the Board’s premier hospitality suite) where I shared my technical expertise and advised the assigned Management Trainee accordingly. In spite of juggling multiple cross-division portfolios vis-a-vis challenging deadlines, my time with the Board was fulfilling and it further fuelled my passion for the industry. With a zest for knowledge, I courageously embarked on a journey to upgrade myself with SIT in order to strengthen my credentials as a well-rounded events management professional.

In the past, I would describe myself as a timid speaker who lacked the ability to present and pitch arguments confidently. Public speaking also makes me anxious and I tend to lose my train of thoughts as I tend to think faster than I speak.

Moving forward, I have since managed to improve my self-confidence by taking up leadership positions in several co-curricular activities as well as led all fundraising event operations at a charity I am currently volunteering in. I have also attended various public speaking coaching sessions and learn from others’ speaking experiences. These coaching and sharing sessions offer valuable opportunities for me to practice and it has improved my speech delivery. That said, I am still learning to structure my arguments in a more concise yet convincing manner as effective communication is critical professionally, especially when dealing with a diverse workforce.

As such, I look forward to developing my communication skills in this module.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Mohammad Norfairus Bin Abdul Rahim

7 thoughts on “Norfairus’ Self-Introduction”

  1. Hi Fai,
    I think you did a great job with your introduction. You used descriptive words and described some words that your readers may not understand such as the Vanda Suite you mentioned.

    Overall your self-introduction had a great flow.

    – Sarah

    Like

  2. In-depth account of work experience were given and in addition to identifying weaknesses in communication, efforts were made to overcome them through the various coaching sessions and activities that helps to improve communication skills.
    Good job with the email.

    Like

  3. Fai, please remove the moderation option. That way, your readers would immediately see their comments posted, at the same time facilitating the review process. Thanks!

    Like

  4. Dear Fai,

    This is a well-developed and highly interesting first post, and I enjoyed reading about your extensive experience in the events industry. You shared concrete details how your recent work experience with the Singapore Tourism Board fuelled your passion in the events industry, and how your zest for knowledge led you to furthering your studies at SIT. An amazing journey, no less; one that clearly demonstrates your thirst for knowledge and your personal growth in the events industry.

    I also applaud your willingness to share your communicative strength and the area in which you wish to hone. Without further ado, let us initiate the review process by looking at this first blog post:

    Word choice >>> ‘Sophomore’ is a very apt word, although it is not commonly used in Singapore. In this regard, a suggestion would be to consider the cultural context and opt for the more familiar ‘second year student’ terminology. (Check out this SIT cluster brochure here: https://goo.gl/9RAXCh)

    Persuasive language >>> “Prior to enrolling into SIT, I have worked for over six years in the events industry in various public and private organisations- -> “…I have (well) over six years of experience as xxx in the …” where you make use of the opportunity to highlight your designation in the introduction.

    >>> “Moving forward, I have since managed to improve my self-confidence…” – -> if the word ‘managed’ is removed, would the statement better demonstrate your conviction in what you have achieved?

    Verb tense >>> “I have successfully managed several key F1 infrastructure projects…”; “…I have actively involved myself in the construction of Vanda Suite…” (Check out this page: https://goo.gl/1VMQV1)

    Preposition >>>”… embarked on a journey to upgrade myself with SIT …”

    Verb form >>>”… Public speaking also makes me anxious…”

    I may be nit-picking, given that this is an excellent first post, but it is done in the spirit of spurring you to hone your communication skills further.

    I look forward to reading your second blog post, Fai.

    Best regards,
    Ms. Lim

    Like

Leave a comment